A gluten free diet is one that does not include foods that contain the
protein known as gluten. Gluten can be found in wheat, malts, rye,
triticale, and barley. It is commonly used as an additive in foods to add
more flavor, to thicken foods, to stabilize foods, and is often labeled as
“dextrin”. A diet free from gluten is the only type of treatment that has
been medically accepted for the condition of celiac disease, wheat allergies,
and dermatitis herpetiformis.